Edit a time entry
Edit a time entry to make any corrections or changes before releasing the time. For example, you need to edit Invalid time entries to correct errors so they can pass your firm's compliance policies and be made ready for release. You must also edit draft time entries, which have an Invalid status, to set the official client and matter values before they can be validated and released.
Tip: You can also bulk change time entries to apply the same edits to multiple time entries at the same time through a single action. See Bulk change multiple time entries at the same time.
-
On the Home screen, click Practice and then click SureTime. You can also click
on any other screen and select SureTime under Practice. -
Optionally click Work on behalf of next to the Account menu and select the user to work on behalf of.
If you do not need to work on behalf of someone else, make sure another user's name is not displayed to the left of the Account menu.
-
Click the Manage Time or Day View tab.
The Manage Time or Day View screen appears.
-
Find the time entry to edit and then click
next to it.To open multiple time entries for editing, select the check box to the left of each entry to edit, and then click
in the column header area and select Update Each Selected Time Entry. The number of time entries selected to be opened for editing is displayed at the top of the
menu.The Time Entry or General Time Entry screen appears with the time entry information populated. Errors that need to be corrected are displayed in red text.
Note:
-
Released, Posted, and Completed time entries cannot be edited.
-
General time entries with an Invalid status cannot be opened for editing at the same time as client-matter-related time entries, but they can be edited individually by clicking
next to them. -
If the sub client number was left blank in a draft time entry, the default sub client number based on the firm's LMS configuration is populated on the Time Entry screen. The Sub client field is only available if your firm uses sub clients.
-
If an ethical wall is set up in LMS+ to prevent access to specific a client/matter after a time entry has already been created for that client/matter, the client, matter, and narrative information may be hidden behind placeholder text when the time entry details are opened on the Manage Time screen. This is to enforce the ethical wall security.
-
-
Make any necessary changes. Keep the following in mind:
-
For information about the fields on the Time Entry screen, see Add a time entry.
-
The option to repeat the time entry is not available when you are editing a time entry. If you forgot to repeat the time entry when you created it, you need to add a new time entry as the second entry in the series and then set the appropriate options for the following recurring entries.
-
When selecting a client and matter to convert a draft time entry to a releasable entry, the available codes, selected values, and maximum narrative length may be updated based on the selected matter. Make sure to review all time entry values closely and provide values for all required fields. If the original narrative from the draft time entry exceeds the maximum character limit for the selected matter, a negative character count is displayed and you must manually edit the narrative to fit under the new limit.
-
-
Click Save to save the time entry and release it later or click Save & Release to save and automatically release the time entry, if it is valid against your firm's compliance policies.
Note: The Save & Release option is only available if you are assigned a user role with access to release time entries.
The save process may take a few seconds while the entry is validated.
-
If the entry is valid, a green message briefly appears in the upper-right corner of the screen to notify you that the entry was saved and released, if you chose to also release it. You return to the Manage Time screen.
-
If any errors are found in the entry, a confirmation message is displayed. Click Stay to return to the time entry, review the errors in red text on the screen, and then correct them before saving the entry again. Click Save with errors to save the time entry with errors to correct later. The time entry with errors will have an Invalid status on the Manage Time screen and must be corrected before it can be released.
-
-
If you opened multiple time entries at the same time, click
or
in the upper right corner of the screen to move between entries. Edit each time entry as needed and then save the changes to each entry. -
Close the Time Entry screen when you finish.
-
Review the time entry's status on the Manage Time screen. Once a time entry has a Ready status, it can be released. See Release a time entry.
