Release a time entry

Release a time entry to send the time off for Billing approval. Invoices cannot be created for billable time until after the time is released.

Note: Only valid time entries with a Ready status can be released. If a time entry has an Invalid status, you must edit it to correct any errors and make it ready for release. See Edit a time entry.

  1. On the Home screen, click Practice and then click SureTime. You can also click Main menu icon on any other screen and select SureTime under Practice.
  2. Optionally click Work on behalf of next to the Account menu and select the user to work on behalf of.

    If you do not need to work on behalf of someone else, make sure another user's name is not displayed to the left of the Account menu.

  3. Click the Manage Time or Day View tab.

    The Manage Time or Day View screen appears.

  4. Find the time entry to release and then click Release time entry icon next to it.

    To release multiple time entries at the same time, select the check box to the left of each entry to release, and then click Work with multiple items icon in the column header area and select Release Selected Time Entries. The number of time entries selected to be released is displayed at the top of the Work with multiple items icon menu.

  5. Click Yes when prompted to confirm releasing the time.

    A green message briefly appears in the upper-right corner of the screen to notify you that the time was released, and the time's status changes to Released.

    When the time entry has been processed and is available for Billing to include it on an invoice, the time's status automatically changes to Posted.

Tip: To avoid navigating to separate screens, you can save and release new time entries when you add them. Click Save & Release on the Time Entry screen to automatically release valid time entries after they are saved. See Add a time entry.