Copy a role

A system administrator can copy an existing role to quickly create a role with the same access rules and then modify the new role as needed to make it unique.

  1. On the Home screen, click Settings and then click Access. You can also click Main menu icon on any other screen and select Access under Settings.

  2. Click the Roles tab.

  3. Find the role to copy and then click Duplicate role icon next to it.

    Tip: You can search for a role to filter the list or sort the list to view roles in ascending or descending order. See Work with item lists. To view only the roles that are currently active, slide the Active Only toggle to the right. When this toggle is slid to the left, both active and inactive roles are listed.

    The Role Access screen appears with the role information populated. The Start Date is automatically set to today's date, but it can be changed to a future date, if needed.

  4. Change the Role name to make the role unique.

  5. Make any additional changes to the role.

    • To set an end date for the entire role, enter the End Date in the top area of the screen.

    • To add a new rule to the role, select the Suite, Module, Feature, Access, and Start Date and optional End Date and then click Add Rule. For more information about these rules, see Add a role for user access.

    • To set an end date for an individual access rule, click Edit icon next to it. The rule is populated above the list. Enter the End Date for the rule and then click Update Rule.

      Note: Dashboards are temporarily unavailable.

  6. Click Save.