Add a role for user access

Note: SureTime and SureClear are temporarily unavailable while our product team develops new enhancements to address customer feedback. The Default Time Management Security role is automatically assigned to mobile app users for all time management functionality. The only role you may want to consider adding for the time being is a role for access to informal conflict searching in the mobile app, if you want mobile users to be able to run informal searches from the app.

  1. On the Home screen, click Settings and then click Access. You can also click Main menu icon on any other screen and select Access under Settings.

  2. Click the Roles tab.

  3. Click + Role.

    The Role Access screen appears.

  4. Enter a Role name.

  5. Select a Start Date for the role.

    Optionally select an End Date if the role is only needed for a specific time period.

  6. On the Screens tab, select a Suite that includes the module and feature to give the role access to.

  7. Select a Module and Feature.

  8. Select an Access option. Full provides full access to all functionality in the selected feature. Inquiry provides limited access.

  9. Select a Start Date for the feature access.

    Optionally select an End Date if the feature access is only needed for a specific time period.

  10. Click Add Rule.

    The access rule is added to the list.

  11. Add more rules for all features the role needs access to.

    Note: Separate rules that provide Inquiry and Full access to the same feature cannot be active on the same days. For example, if you add a rule to provide Inquiry access to 'Add and manage time entries' from May 1, 2021 through May 31, 2021, you cannot add a rule that gives Full access to the same feature during the month of May. The rule to give Full access must have a start date that is at least one day after the end date for the Inquiry access rule.

  12. To update a rule, click Edit icon next to it. The rule values are available for editing above the list in the same area where you created the rule. Make any changes and then click Update Rule.

    Note: Dashboards are temporarily unavailable.

  13. Click Save.

    The role is added and you return to the Roles screen.

After a role is added, you need to assign it to appropriate users to give them access to the configured features. See Edit user access.