Copy a time entry

Copy a time entry to quickly create a new entry with mostly the same information. For example, if you have a task you routinely perform for a client every Friday afternoon, you can copy the first time entry created for the task at the end of each week, change the date for the new entry, and then save and release it.

Note: Identical time entries cannot be saved. When you copy a time entry, you must make a change, such as select a different date or make a minor edit to the narrative, to ensure the new entry is unique.

  1. On the Home screen, click Practice and then click SureTime. You can also click Main menu icon on any other screen and select SureTime under Practice.

  2. Optionally click Work on behalf of next to the Account menu and select the user to work on behalf of.

    If you do not need to work on behalf of someone else, make sure another user's name is not displayed to the left of the Account menu.

  3. Click the Manage Time or Day View tab.

    The Manage Time or Day View screen appears.

  4. Find the time entry to copy and then click Duplicate time entry icon next to it.

    The Time Entry or General Time Entry screen appears with the information from the original time entry populated. Today's Date is set instead of the date of the original entry.

  5. Review the time entry and make any necessary changes.

    Tip: For information about the fields on the Time Entry screen, see Add a time entry.

  6. Click Save to save the time entry and release it later or click Save & Release to save and automatically release the time entry, if it is valid against your firm's compliance policies.

    Note: The Save & Release option is only available if you are assigned a user role with access to release time entries.

    The save process may take a few seconds while the entry is validated.

    • If the entry is valid, a green message briefly appears in the upper-right corner of the screen to notify you that the entry was saved and released, if you chose to also release it. You return to the Manage Time screen.

    • If any errors are found in the entry, a confirmation message is displayed. Click Stay to return to the time entry, review the errors in red text on the screen, and then correct them before saving the entry again. Click Save with errors to save the time entry with errors to correct later. The time entry with errors will have an Invalid status on the Manage Time screen and must be corrected before it can be released.